Author Topic: "Real Life" City of Heroes Costumes  (Read 1454 times)

djonehitwonder

• Minion
"Real Life" City of Heroes Costumes
« on: December 30, 2012, 07:07:28 AM »
Not sure if it's exactly kosher to post about this here, but I think it's relevant to our interests as City of Heroes players.  I'm running an IndieGoGo campaign to raise funds to buy supplies to make samples of costume pieces inspired by those available in the costume creator.  It ends at 11:59pm PT on December 30th, so there's only one day left.

But first, let me tell you a bit more about me.  I started playing CoH in May of 2004 and became a DJ for The Cape Radio in July of 2004.  I got divorced in early 2005 and had to quit both for awhile as I rebuilt my life and moved across the country.  I started back up with both again in 2006, took time off here and there due to finances and moving again, got laid off in 2009 and started working on starting my own business and getting a college degree, and eventually ended up in New Hampshire.  In August, I married another Cape DJ that I would never have met if not for CoH.  This game was my home and my anchor through some turbulent times and led me to where I am now, the happiest I've ever been. 

I'm even using my CoH nickname, Wondie (short for One Hit Wonder) as the persona behind my business, and I readily answer to it as easily as I do my real name.  So it's really not a stretch for me to want to incorporate CoH into my business somehow.  I make and sell handmade and upcycled jewelry, clothing, costumes, accessories, and other fun and geeky stuff.  Up until recently, I was mostly doing jewelry, but the plan has always been to get more clothing and costumes into my product lines.  Of course, in order to do this, I need samples, and in order to make samples, I need supplies, and in order to get supplies, I need money.  Thus the IndieGoGo campaign.