Author Topic: I need to get something off my chest  (Read 1069 times)

CG

• Elite Boss
I need to get something off my chest
« on: December 03, 2012, 02:52:43 AM »
Ms. Ultra on Virtue (@RedWood) (Inv/SS Tanker)

I'm having trouble coming to terms with CoH's closing. I watched this video and started to tear up: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3lU9UhozRuY

What I don't understand is why I care so much for a video game I can't play any more.

It's not like I was the most decicated fan; I doubt anyone here remembers me.  I couldn't participate in the forums as a non-VIP member. I started playing at Issue 3 or so, had a good time, got to 50 and moved on after two years.  Once the game went F2P I came back, made new toons and spent some money on powers and costume slots.  F2P only works if at least some of the players put some money in, so I wanted to do my part.

I started playing CoH with my 2-year old daughter on my lap when I came back.  We did last year's Winter event together.  I'd steer and she'd control the spacebar for "The Jumping Lady" as she called my toon.  We Foot Stomped mobs to get presents and try to summon the snowman to follow us around.  We went to Striga Isle to listen to the Singing Wolves (Warwolves), swim in the ocean and see the volcano.  Now I have to explain to her that we can't play The Jumping Lady any more and she doesn't really understand.

I don't undestand why I feel like I just lost a friend.

I don't know if I loved the character I made, or the memories of playing real life friends online or with online friends in the Paragon Elite back in the day.  (There were a lots of similar names in the register.  Mine was with Nuclia, Alter Doc and Wing Chun Li among others)  I loved running around the city with Superjump.  I'd find interesting places to log out just for the view.