Author Topic: Can't install new system  (Read 2677 times)

longhu

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't install new system
« on: September 24, 2009, 08:06:19 PM »
Get this error on two different computers.  I think it it said something about an invalid date and time:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
   at Hero_Designer.frmMain.pnlGFX_MouseMove(Object sender, MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnMouseMove(MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseMove(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Hero Designer
    Assembly Version: 1.4.10.0
    Win32 Version: 1.4.010
    CodeBase: file:///D:/Program%20Files/Mids%20Hero%20Designer/Hero%20Designer.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.1433 (REDBITS.050727-1400)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.

Catharctic

  • Guest
Re: Can't install new system
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 08:09:29 PM »
If you are on Vista or Windows7, right click and "Run As Administrator".

Spar

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install new system
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2009, 09:12:14 PM »
I had the same problem, but Run As Admin didn't help me.  Steiner said the problem was with the UAC (User Account Control - the Vista pop-up "Are you sure you want to do this?").  I had to turn that off to get the downloader to install correctly.  After that, you can turn the UAC back in without a problem.

Steiner

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,602
    • Steinerd.com
Re: Can't install new system
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2009, 01:54:01 AM »
Not completely true Spar.

UAC really screws with Mids for some stupid reason. I think we have to add a UAC manifest so it won't throw all there errors.
~Steinerd

Spar

  • Minion
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't install new system
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2009, 02:04:23 AM »
Well I've also noticed that loading the Designer application causes UAC to bring up a prompt when it didn't before.  It's not really annoying, but I am curious as to why.

longhu

  • Underling
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't install new system
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2009, 04:05:25 PM »
Not running Windows 7 or Vista.  Both on Windows XP.  Again on two seperate computers.  Should I just delete program and reinstall?

SuckerPunch

  • Elite Boss
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,608
    • Titan Network
Re: Can't install new system
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2009, 04:13:25 PM »
Not running Windows 7 or Vista.  Both on Windows XP.  Again on two seperate computers.  Should I just delete program and reinstall?

Back up your saved builds folder, uninstall the old program (if you can), and delete the folder from Program Files.