Author Topic: DC Online Frustration  (Read 3712 times)

Kaos Arcanna

• Elite Boss
DC Online Frustration
« on: June 21, 2015, 01:46:21 AM »
And now I'm remembering why I quit playing DC Universe Online.

I've really been missing playing a staff melee toon, and since DC Online HAS staff melee, I started playing one of those toons I had in that game. (I have a lifetime sub to it.)
I had a blast getting him to 30 in just a few days. Now I'm ready to quit playing the game again because I need to earn Marks of Victory to get decent gear, and there doesn't
seem to be a way for a solo player to do so in anything like a reasonable period of time.  (Which really makes me mad because all the content I HAVEN'T seen in that game is
gated behind Combat Rating that I have not been able to achieve.).

For instance I currently have a combat rating of 32. I get a zone mission on the JLA satellite to defeat Brainiac's forces in Gotham that are  Level 56. I can actually handle the baddies I have to defeat to achieve my mission objective one on one, but the area's filled with dozens of little Bounders that swarm me and kill me in nothing flat.

Asking on the public channel for information-- not help; just information-- is getting me nowhere.

DC Online is a really pretty game and has some neat travel powers. (Especially super speed.)

But now I just don't even want to touch it ... again.

Exxar

• Lieutenant
Re: DC Online Frustration
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2015, 10:57:03 AM »
Yeah, the classic solo to party-only bait and switch which happens at max level of the vast majority of MMOs. Bleh.

Shenku

• Elite Boss
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2015, 01:02:12 AM »
Having dealt with the woes of nothing to do at 30 but grind Marks solo through solo challenges that earn me like 1/50th the marks I'll need to get my Combat Rating up, I definitely hear you.

I made it as high as 52ish before every one of my friends gave up on the game and moved back to WoW or random FPS games on their consoles.