Author Topic: You hate it, I love it?  (Read 3220 times)

Ultimate15

• Boss
You hate it, I love it?
« on: March 01, 2015, 05:12:15 AM »
Hey everyone :) I just wrapped up playing some Champions Online. I hate how even thinking about that game makes me miss COH all the more - I can't help but log in every now and then just because I want to keep in touch with the COH community that's migrated over there since shut down, but it's so self-sabotaging for my homesick/lethargic pathos.

...But it got me thinking.

I DO believe that many of the issues and critiques people had of COH were valid. No game is perfect, and City of Heroes was/is no exception (came pretty damn close, though). However, I think one of the reasons as to why I was a 7 year veteran of the game was, in part, due to the fact that the problems some players had with the game were never really 'problems' for me, per-say. In fact, they were actually things about the game I kinda grew to like? Such as:

1.) Wow, these graphics aren't the greatest. Okaaaaaaay okay. Visually, no - COH won't give you an eye boner. But the look/feel of the game from a graphic standpoint suited the game well with the type of genre and feel that I suspected the franchise was going for. I like when I logged into COH, I felt like I was in a comic book world, or I was in some type of DC/Marvel animated movie. I really came to love how things didn't look super realistic, because I don't think the game itself was supposed to be all that authentic? Right?