Author Topic: Playing around with CoH "Art"  (Read 3389 times)

blueicemaiden

• Underling
Playing around with CoH "Art"
« on: January 31, 2014, 03:38:57 PM »
I'm pretty new to the world of actually inking and coloring digitally. In fact, I never did it on paper either. I'm more of a print magazine layout kind of "designer" - as I've done that for almost a decade now.

That being said, I like the idea of taking screenshots and inking lines and coloring them. It's a lot more time consuming than I'd originally thought, so kudos to those of you who rock it.

Here's my very first attempt (work in progress - lots to be done). I'm using a screenie from Icon. She'll eventuall have a completed right foot and an energy blast coming from her hand (sniper blast).

Meet Blue Jaye an Empathy/Energy Defender on Justice. She was my first character on CoH. So I thought it would be appropriate to make her my first attempt at "drawing digitally" - I'm using inkscape and illustrator.

Constructive critique welcomed as this is my first go round! Keeping in mind I'm still working.

Drauger9

• Elite Boss
    • My gaming blog
Re: Playing around with CoH "Art"
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, 03:29:49 AM »
Nice, it looks good for you first try.

What's coming off her back? Is it a cape or something?

therain93

• Elite Boss
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2014, 02:46:54 PM »
 That's really nice looking -- also a sad reminder of how well-animated the game was.  Such  a feeling of gravity and energy.
@Texarkana - March 5, 2004 - December 1, 2012 -- Imageshack |-| Youtube
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You don't know what it's like.... |-| Book One. Chapter one...

Blackout

• "That guy"
  • Boss
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2014, 03:07:22 PM »
very nice work, I'm new to using computer art programs myself too, but I'd say that your progressing pretty well for someone who's completely new to it.