Author Topic: Calling all CoH players - I want to talk with you about CoH's closure  (Read 4543 times)

SirJD

• Underling
Originally posted at the Official CoH forums - was referred here by some very helpful members

Greetings Titan Network forums,
My name is Jamie, I'm a freelance writer for a number of videogame outlets (PCPP Magazine, VG247 etc), and I'd love to talk with you.

Late last year a game by the name of Star Wars Galaxies (Article) closed its doors. Sadly I was too late to jump aboard and experience the closing weeks, but I was lucky enough to be able to talk to players, both past and present, and find out just what the SWG experience was like. An obituary to a deceased game, if you will.

Well, not twelve months later and I'm feeling in a familiar position: there's another MMO closing down. Yet this time around, things feel different. There's more of a ruckus from players to keep it alive, more of a wider outpouring of sadness at its closure. And, undoubtedly, stories that are worth telling.

Stories I want to tell.

While the article I am writing is yet to be picked up by any outlets, I am in continual talks with finding it a home, and will be able to share that information at a later date. So, what do I need from you?

I'll admit, I'm new to CoH. I dabbled with it a little around launch and never returned. That is, until now: I was lucky enough to create a new account just before account creation was closed down, and I'm ready and willing to come along for the ride that is City of Heroes' closure.

And that's where you all come in: I want to talk to you. I want to know what it was like before launch - the anticipation, the excitement. What it was like in the early days, or years. How the game felt. Memorable moments. Why you played CoH, and why you still do today.