Author Topic: Forty new citizens of Paragon a semester :)  (Read 3189 times)

Mindscythe

• Lieutenant
  • "Any world is what you make of it."
    • SoR Radio
Forty new citizens of Paragon a semester :)
« on: September 13, 2012, 09:31:02 PM »
I already posted this in the testimonials thread, but it was suggested to me that I should make it its own, so I hope no one minds. :)

Hi, I'm Mindscythe, and I'm a CoH Lifer since about three months after launch. Never unsubbed, never stopped playing, never stopped paying, even created a second account (also VIP) a few years back.

When I'm not running around as a crimson-clad magic mind controller, I'm a professor at Central Michigan University, where I teach our introductory web design for electronic media class. Currently, I have two sections, a Monday-Wednesday class and a Tuesday-Thursday class. Although I helped write the course many years back, this is my first time teaching it.

Week 1 is all about Computer-Mediated Communication (CMC) theory, talking about virtual identity, community, and culture. This is right up my alley, since that's what my doctoral dissertation was about. In week 3, the students get assigned an exercise that asks them to explore an online community, participate, and write a short (3-5 pages) paper on their experience when the week is over.

Long before the NCsoft announcement, I knew I'd love to send my students into Paragon and let them experience the same virtual community I've come to love and call home. That was an easy decision. Getting the college computer techs to install a "game program" on the computers in the lab I teach in, on the other hand, wasn't, but I convinced them. And this week...

The Monday-Wednesday class, day 1.

The Tuesday-Thursday class, day 1.

The Monday-Wednesday class, day 2.

The Tuesday-Thursday class, day 2.