Author Topic: Um...hi.  (Read 2282 times)

Rust

• Elite Boss
  • Oddball
Um...hi.
« on: April 15, 2013, 12:27:47 AM »
So...yeah. Another City of Heroes Refugee here (Pay no mind to my avatar at present). Virtue bound at the time of death, but I was on Pinnacle for a long time prior to that. I started playing shortly after the launch of Issue 4 or 5 (The issue that changed out the 5th Column with The Council) and kept coming back time and again until the eventual shut down.

I was never that "big" in the game community. My mainstay characters - Night Raider, Thoughtforce (Coincidentally, that's him reborn in Champions in my Avatar), Mister Astonishing, Killer Leopard, and Demon Digger - tended to be loners. Hence why I never signed up for these forums during the Coming Storm.

But well...times change and CoH gave me a lot of comfort in some dark days, and my days are getting dark once again and I can't retreat back into Paragon City like I used to. I've been MMO hopping for quite awhile - I've done Fallen Earth, The Old Republic, Everquest 2, World of WarCraft (Recovering WoW Addict - A whole year clean), Star Trek Online, and now I've subbed to Champions Online simply because it seems like the closest thing to Paragon City I've got (I think the fact it was originally developed by Cryptic lends it some "credibility" in my eyes. Also, STO wasn't a bad experience compared to what it was like at launch, so I'm willing to give Perfect World the benefit of the doubt).

Why sign up now? I dunno. That old "Super Heroic Itch" I suppose. CoH was great for me because I was one of those kids that didn't just have one or two custom made Super Heroes growing up - no, I developed an entire universe that ended up being transplanted and built upon in CoH (Several of my heroes - such as Thoughtforce and Mister Astonishing - are CoH Creations). I guess my Heroverse is where I go to unwind when the world gets too much for me.